Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Archive through December 04, 2003 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Books, Films and Other Media » General Discussion » Books » Archive through December 04, 2003 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kurt Wagner
Unregistered guest
Posted on Friday, May 02, 2003 - 1:45 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

hi I'm fairly new to all this, I'm looking for books on JtR, yesterday I went looking for "A Handbook for Attendants on the Insane" and to my dismay the local book store didn't have it, instead I picked up "Jack the Ripper: An Encyclopaedia" by John J. Eddleston. What I'm looking for exactly is what would seasoned Ripperologists suggest as required reading? I hope to become just as learned on this subject as some of you seem to be, thank you for your time if anyone wishes to contact me on this subject, heres my E-mail address orbitsfallingfromthesky@hotmail.com
thanks again

Christopher DiGrazia
Police Constable
Username: Cmd

Post Number: 7
Posted on Friday, May 02, 2003 - 4:02 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Kurt -

While Eddleston's Encyclopaediais a fairly decent omnibus book, it is unfortunately rife with errors which could cause you to trip up later on. However, any 'seasoned Ripperologist' would recommend Philip Sugden's The Complete History of Jack the Ripper as the best primer on the case. It also has the advantage of being the most readily available book on the Whitechapel Murders.