Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Archive through April 29, 2004 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Suspects » Maybrick, James » The Diary Controversy » Re: Maybrick; I'm new to this and have elementary (uninformed) question » Archive through April 29, 2004 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Paul Butler
Sergeant
Username: Paul

Post Number: 50
Posted on Wednesday, April 07, 2004 - 10:25 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Harry

A few interesting posts here.

The first real question that has to be answered IMHO is that of which came first, the diary or the watch, or maybe both at the same time.

All of the hoax theories I have ever heard suggested, both here and elsewhere, put the diary first, and then the watch following after as a sort of bandwagon hoax, created to add credibility to the diary.

Something it singularly failed to do at the outset it seems.

News of the diary first came out in around April 1993, but the evidence is now quite overwhelming that the watch scratches already existed in the previous year at the very least.

If the hoaxer had placed the watch in Murphy’s window in 1992, he would have just had to hope that a gullible member of the public would first of all buy it, and then notice the very slight scratches and understand what they were and appreciate their potential importance. He should also be grateful that Mr Murphy’s attempts at polishing them out fell short of total obliteration. Not a very good bet really.

It seems to me that the only hoax scenario that fits all of the available evidence is that both articles are older hoaxes, maybe about 20 or so years ago, or indeed possibly even contemporary with the murders.