Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Victorian tattoos Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » General Discussion » Victorian Culture and Related Issues » Victorian tattoos « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kelly Robinson
Police Constable
Username: Kelly

Post Number: 6
Posted on Thursday, April 01, 2004 - 12:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm doing research for an article on tattooing in the Victorian era and wondered if anyone here might have some information on the subject. I know Eddowes had a tattoo, so maybe someone's looked into it...? Anything would be helpful because I'm just getting started. Thanks.

Michael Raney
Inspector
Username: Mikey559

Post Number: 230
Posted on Thursday, April 01, 2004 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Kelly,

I just happen to be getting a tattoo today. I will talk to my tat guy and see if knows anything. He has books showing some very old types of tattoos. He showed me some 18th century tattoos that sailors got from the South Pacific Islands. It was fascinating.

Mikey

R.J. Palmer
Inspector
Username: Rjpalmer

Post Number: 357
Posted on Thursday, April 01, 2004 - 12:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)