Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Hoax or not a hoax? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Suspects » Maybrick, James » The Diary Controversy » Hoax or not a hoax? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kyle
Unregistered guest
Posted on Monday, May 02, 2005 - 1:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi,
I am new to the message boards. I am very confused about this diary. I was not sure which thread to make a post, so I started this one.I cant seem to get off the starting line with this subject so I would be extremely greatful if someone out there could get me started by helping me with a few basic points.

a. what is the current scientific oppinion about the age and authenticity of the diary.Where does it stand right now.
b. what are the KEY points for it being real.
c. what are the KEY points for it being a hoax.
d. where does the majority oppinion stand

If someone can get me started, so I can start to research, I would appreciate it.
Thanks

R.J. Palmer
Chief Inspector
Username: Rjpalmer

Post Number: 615
Posted on Thursday, May 12, 2005 - 12:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I've asked this here a couple times before, without luck. Let me pose it one more time.

When examining the veracity of a statement, it's always important to trace the earliest possible source for that claim. It's always important to track it down.

Johnson said he first learned of Maybrick's significance after a co-worker mentioned an article about Maybrick that appeared in the Liverpool Post. (There were actually two articles). These appeared on 22 and 24 April, 1993.