Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Most accurate Jack The Ripper Movies Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Books, Films and Other Media » Movies » Most accurate Jack The Ripper Movies « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Jan Taylor
Unregistered guest
Posted on Monday, March 01, 2004 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I was just wondering. What are some of the best/most accurate Jack The Ripper movies? I'm new to the case and things click easier in my head through visuals, like movies. Though I've read almost everything on this site.

Robert Clack
Inspector
Username: Rclack

Post Number: 221
Posted on Monday, March 01, 2004 - 6:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Jan

The 'Jack the Ripper' T.V. series with Michael Caine is fairly accurate where the murders and investigations are concerned (if you ignore the Coach in it).

'Murder by Decree' is in my opinion the best Ripper movie. I don't believe the theory in it but it is the most entertaining and has great atmosphere and the victims are portrayed as human beings.

All the best

Rob

Richard Brian Nunweek
Chief Inspector
Username: Richardn

Post Number: 729
Posted on Tuesday, March 02, 2004 - 3:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi,
The simple truth , there has not been an accurate film to date,we have never got a down to earth portrayal of events.