Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Abberline - 'From Hell' Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Police Officials » Abberline, Inspector Frederick » Abberline - 'From Hell' « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Nadine
Unregistered guest
Posted on Sunday, February 27, 2005 - 8:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello,

Being a JtR novice, I am requiring some assisstance on the subject of Detective Abberline.I recently saw on TV the movie, 'From Hell', starring Johnny Depp as Det Abberline.In it he has almost supernatural powers to see the murders before they happen.He is in no doubt about the freemason plot hatched by Gull to cover the Princes Bacon.He also becomes directly involved in a relationship with Mary Kelly.

How much of this is 'Hollywood' and how much reality? Did he at any stage in this case , or his career for that matter, suspect a royal cover-up as the motive behind the Whitechapel murders? As far as I have read, Mary Kelly was involved with Joseph Barnett (himself a major suspect now) right up until just before her murder.Did Mr Abberline even know of Kelly before her murder?

I was just curious to know exactly what the real Mr Abberline was like and exactly how good he really was.Have his deeds been exagerated over 116 years? Has he been made by writers and movie makers to be something he isn't.Has he been selected as the 'HERO' to counter the villan JtR to suit writers needs?

Deadly
Unregistered guest
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 7:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)