Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

JTR Research - Advice Sought Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » General Discussion » JTR Research - Advice Sought « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Robert Charles Linford
Assistant Commissioner
Username: Robert

Post Number: 1848
Posted on Wednesday, January 14, 2004 - 5:56 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Folks

Recently I have been looking up births, marriages and deaths, and census records, both for personal family tree and JTR reasons. Although I'm a complete novice at this game, I've found I actually enjoy it.

There are now complete birth, marriage and death records available online on a pay-per-view basis - which saves having to keep visiting the FRC - and the 1881 and 1901 censuses are also available online. The big problem is the 1891 census.

As I understand it, the only complete index is by street. That means that if you're looking for a particular person, you might never find them!

There is a partially complete name index available on subscription sites like Ancestry.com. Would this be a good bet?

The purpose of this thread is to try and garner tips from the seasoned researchers on these boards - pitfalls to avoid, etc - for me and for other beginners.

For instance, I think Chris Scott once said that names of witnesses are sometimes included on the marriage pages at Free BMD - something I'd never have suspected in a million years!

Any advice much appreciated.

Robert

Peter R. A. Birchwood
Sergeant
Username: Pbirchwood

Post Number: 32
Posted on Wednesday, January 14, 2004 - 6:30 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Robert: