Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Hi and thanks Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Pub Talk » Hi and thanks « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

cassie
Unregistered guest
Posted on Tuesday, November 08, 2005 - 10:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello all!

I have been visiting this great site of yours for a few months now, since reading Mr Sudgen’s book. I’ve found the boards very interesting and entertaining but I must admit to feeling a touch…what’s the word?...voyeuristic, lurking about in the shadows, just ‘listening’ in. So, to appease my conscience I’ve decided to pop my head in and say hi and thank you all for relieving me of hours of, what would otherwise have been, hair-tearing boredom. I am only able to get out of the house for a few hours a week to run errands otherwise I'm home all the time(long story – I won’t bore you) so the internet, and this site in particular, has been a godsend.

I have always had a love of social history and a good mystery (I read Agatha Christie’s while all my friends were reading teen romance novels) so the whole JTR case is fascinating to me. I knew very little about it before reading Mr Sugden’s book but you’ll be glad to hear I gave the whole royal conspiracy thing no credence even then – in fact, you only have to mention the work ‘conspiracy’ to me in any context and I feel the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.