Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Archive through December 16, 2003 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Suspects » Sickert, Walter » Patricia Cornwell's book » Archive through December 16, 2003 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

John Yule
Unregistered guest
Posted on Wednesday, September 24, 2003 - 4:20 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

To chime in once again. My background is 30 years in Military Intelligence. As in police work, I was taught to deal in demostratable facts and build my case logically. Cornwell was easily demostrated to have either been unaware of available evidence, or to have suppressed facts that weakened her case; fatal flaws either way. She repeatedly asserts things she cannot prove; that Sickert had multiple studios in the East End, that there is no evidence for his being out of the country at the time of the murder, that he was sexually disfigured, that he wrote some or many of the JtR letters, etc.

Having caught her out on basics; for example, that few of his father's writings had been translated because of the difficulty of translating from High German to Low German and then into English. High German is proper German. Low German is regional dialect. To have translated from High German to Low German as an intermidiate step to translating into English is to say a translator had to go from BBC English to broad Yorkshire in order to translate into French. Complete nonsense!

Once an author is caught in that sort of error, it is perfectly reasonable to demand that ALL assertions be proved by original sources. This she fails to do.

Julie Lambert
Unregistered guest