Dissertations
Timelines
Games & Diversions
About the Casebook

Search:

Join the Chat Room!

Ripper inspired painting by Sickert? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Edit Profile

Casebook: Jack the Ripper - Message Boards » Suspects » Sickert, Walter » Ripper inspired painting by Sickert? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Stephen P. Ryder
Board Administrator
Username: Admin

Post Number: 3142
Posted on Wednesday, September 22, 2004 - 6:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Don't have much information on this, but I was emailed the below image from an art historian/dealer who says its a painting attributed to Walter Sickert which has recently ended up in his hands.

I'm not an expert in Sickert paintings so I don't know if this is a well-known piece or one "new" to Ripperology, but I don't believe I've seen this one before. It is certainly of interest to us if it is indeed a Sickert, as the combination of the bloody female corpse on the bed and the top-hatted man in black seems to be inspired at least to some extent by the Ripper murders.

I'm endeavouring to dig up more information on the painting and its provenance at the moment and will post more if anything interesting comes my way:

Stephen P. Ryder, Exec. Editor
Casebook: Jack the Ripper

Rudlophe Giordani
Unregistered guest
Posted on Wednesday, September 22, 2004 - 8:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'd thoroughly check the authenticity. I've seen quite a lot of Sickert, though I wouldn't style myself an expert, and this seems totally different in many aspects (not the sujet, mind you).

Regards

R. Giordani

Brad McGinnis
Inspector
Username: Brad

Post Number: 190